Marketing Strategists Honoured at CMO Awards

Madeleen Klaasen, Luca de Meo and Dr. Hannes Ametsreiter are this year’s winners of the CMO of the Year 2008 awards.

In only its third year, the prize is already the most prestigious award for European heads of marketing. It highlights the growing importance of strategic marketing and innovative marketing communications.

Booz & Company, together with an international jury, selected these three outstanding heads of marketing from a total of 38 nominees. The prize-winners received their awards at a gala evening in Frankfurt yesterday.

Each of the three prize-winners stands for an exceptionally successful marketing strategy and its consistent implementation.

Within a short period of time, Dutch-born Madeleen Klaasen transformed the Bugaboo buggy—using iconic, creative and innovative marketing tools—from a design study to a global mobility brand appealing to modern parents on all continents.

Italian Luca de Meo rejuvenated the traditional Fiat brand. Using an innovative, largely digital marketing strategy, he established the basis for the impressive turnaround in the Italian car group.

The third prize-winner, Austrian Dr. Hannes Ametsreiter, responsible for marketing at mobilkom austria and Telekom Austria, is orienting both companies and their product portfolio more closely to the needs of their customers and in a more consistent way than their domestic and European competitors. As a result, he has succeeded in gaining significant market share in a saturated market.